Search and links to main areas of the site

Skip to page content

Home   What we do
QCA's response to the annual report of the Bureaucracy Review Group
Curriculum and Assessment Policy - quality assurance programme

QCA maintains and develops the national curriculum and associated assessments, tests and examinations; and accredits and monitors qualifications in colleges and at work.

Examination system

QCA regulates the public examination system, so that it is responsive to the needs of learners and society and is responsible for the development, delivery and administration of high-quality national tests.

National curriculum

We develop the national curriculum, which defines the knowledge, understanding and skills to which children and young people are entitled. We keep it under review, to evaluate its appropriateness and relevance to the changing needs of learners and society.

National qualifications framework

Our national qualifications framework enables us to accredit qualifications at appropriate levels to meet the needs of employers and learners. We fund occupational standards, support learning at work and regularly review the suitability and availability of qualifications, to ensure that the needs of learners, employers and the economy are met.

QCA is committed to equality of opportunity and works to ensure that the national curriculum, examinations and tests are accessible to people with different abilities.

QCA collaborates with other regulators: the Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA), the Qualifications, Curriculum and Assessment Authority for Wales (ACCAC) and the Council for the Curriculum, Examinations and Assessment in Northern Ireland (CCEA). We oversee the work of the awarding bodies, to ensure that their administration, marking and awarding procedures run smoothly.

We also work closely with our main strategic partners, including the Department for Education and Skills (DfES), the Office for Standards in Education (Ofsted), the Adult Learning Inspectorate (ALI), employers' organisations, the Teacher Training Agency (TTA), the Learning and Skills Council (LSC), the General Teaching Council (GTC) and the Sector Skills Councils (SSC).

QCA is committed to serving the needs of its customers and is aiming for continuous improvement across all areas of its work.


What we do
previous icon [About us