Search and links to main areas of the site

Skip to page content

Home   Ages 14-19
Photo - teenagers in classroom

Between the ages of 14 and 19 young people choose their subjects and start to think about their future choices. The curriculum leading up to the awarding of GCSE, A level, GNVQ and NVQ qualifications is designed to offer academic and practical skills that young people can use to build their careers. But 14-19 is more than just qualifications. It is a key period of learning and development.

This section provides links to QCA's special site 14-19 learning as well as information on the subjects and qualifications available.

Photo - female student National curriculum 14-16

This section provides links to information on the national curriculum subjects and assessment up to 16.

Group of student 14-19 students 14-19 learning website

This site contains information, guidance and a wealth of case studies on most aspects of the 14-19 curriculum.

Photo - male student 14-19 subjects

Between the ages of 14 and 19, young people have the opportunity to work towards a wide range of qualifications.

Types of qualification

This section includes information on A levels, advanced extension awards (AEAs), basic skills, entry level qualifications, general certificates of education (GCSEs), general national vocational qualifications (GNVQs), key skills and others.

Photo - students working together Inclusion

This section provides information on QCA's policy on inclusion and its work supporting education professionals.

National qualifications framework

This section explains how the national qualifications framework (NQF) sets out the different levels at which qualifications can be recognised, helping learners make well-informed choices on the qualifications they need.

Banner - developing the landscape for 14-19 learning
In Ages 14-19